[FSM News] FSM seeks to ratify the Pacific Islands Forum establishment Agreement

May 17, 2013


On May 14, the Administration transmitted a resolution requesting Congress to ratify thee Agreement establishing the Pacific Islands Forum (PIF).

The PIF was organized in 1971. FSM signed the Agreement on October 27, 2005 according to the resolution transmittal letter.

“Many regional initiatives, including the Pacific Plan, have progressed through the mutual cooperation of Forum members. Strengthening regional cooperation and integration is a primary purpose of the Forum. Our Nation has continually received assistance from this regional cooperation on numerous areas, including public governance and economic development”, the transmittal highlights.

Forum members are Australia, the Cook Islands, Fiji, Nauru, New Zealand, Samoa, Tonga, Federated States of Micronesia, Kiribati, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, Solomon Islands, Tuvalu, and Vanuatu.

The FSM is among other members who have not ratified the Agreement.

Posted by at 2:21 PM

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s